Heidi's Tea Blog

For the love of tea!

First Tea Outside

Finally, a warm, sunny weekend to enjoy some tea outside. The first for this year. We had only one lawn chair out so I grabbed that and strategically placed it in a sunny spot on the deck.

Trees and bushes are JUST starting to get spring buds and the grass is starting to green up in spots. The stream is wide open, completely free of ice and many of our feathered friends have returned for the season.

I grabbed some cranberry-oatmeal bites and some delicious Lapsang Souchong tea from Eteaket in Scotland. Yes, it’s been three years since we went to Scotland and yes, I still have some of that tea I purchased there. It reminds me of our trip there each time I open the tin.

This is a very robust, strong tea. One that smells like a campfire. In fact it smells so smokey that my husband thought I had burned something in the kitchen because the scent lingered so in the kitchen after I brewed it.

I took my Brown Betty teapot off the shelf. I go into the story behind the Brown Betty in greater detail in a previous post if you’re interested. Then I grabbed a lovely Royal Albert bone china teacup and saucer with a lovely peach damask pattern. I thought the colors of this teacup bounced off the dark brown, shiny teapot in a lovely way, along with it’s beautiful, gold details.

There was a cool breeze, but I placed my chair in a spot where it was slightly sheltered. The sun was very warm and felt wonderful on my skin. Speaking of skin…I allowed my shockingly, bright white ankles out of their winter cocoon. The birds were frightened, but soon realized they had nothing to fear.

I have been waiting all winter for this. Sitting in the bright sun with tea warming my soul. Watching the jet’s stream across the brilliant, blue sky. The sweet sounds of birds chirping surrounding me as I gazed out over the sparkling water. Ahhh….

2 comments on “First Tea Outside

  1. jennylynnsite
    June 3, 2016

    Yay! It feels so good to finally have summer here. I am noticing all of the beauty around me and I feel so blessed as I know you do. I loved your line ” I have been waiting all winter for this. Sitting in the bright sun with tea warming my soul. Watching the jet’s stream across the brilliant, blue sky. The sweet sounds of birds chirping surrounding me as I gazed out over the sparkling water. Ahhh….” Lots of Love to you Aunt Heidi. Enjoy that deck!

  2. Heidi, beautiful! Wish I’d been there with you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2016 by in Comforting, Loose Tea, Scotland, Tea, Tea rooms, Travel and tagged , , , , , .

Flickr Photos

Day by Day

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Subjects

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Follow Heidi's Tea Blog on WordPress.com
